Though I’m very interested in the frequency, accuracy and enthusiasm with which information is shared on social media, I don’t claim to be adept at the prominent platforms. Over the past year or so, I’ve fallen out of the habit of checking Twitter regularly, mainly because I was led to believe the network was losing relevance. However, it’s recently become clear that Twitter is an important resource for journalists. As I continue to develop my own social media brand, it makes sense that I seek out a few key Twitter feeds to follow as I work on building this blog. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

Organization Accounts

@NASASeaLevel and @RutgersSeaLevel: Information on sea level research from a couple of well known institutions. Since sea level rise obviously has an impact on the future of our beaches, it’s important that I stay abreast of this increasingly scary topic.

@ClimateCentral, @ClimateReality, and @guardianeco: A more broad set of feeds to keep up to date with news on climate change. In this case, I chose “newsy” accounts rather than people in order to gain easy access to news articles.

@OurOcean and @theoceanproject, and @surfrider: To help keep up with general news about the ocean from foundations dedicated to protecting it.

@WHOI and @WHOIMedia: Because working at WHOI is a huge part of the reason I became interested in this beat in the first place.

People Accounts

Andrew Thaler, @SFriedScientist: Expert on marine scientist and conservation and member of Oceanography for Everyone. Also wrote this field guide on finding ocean accounts to follow on Twitter.

Carl Safina, @carlsafina: Well-known ecologist and author of several books on the human relationship with the natural world. Covers wildlife in the ocean and beyond.

Sylvia Earle, @SylviaEarle: Oceanographer and founder of Mission Blue, an organization dedicated to raise public awareness for marine protected areas.

Matthew Nisbet, @MCNisbet: Editor-in-chief of the Oxford Encyclopedia of Science Communication. Also one of my professors this semester, so I feel like I should probably follow his Twitter.

I expect this list, especially the “people” section, to grow significantly as I learn more about lists on Twitter, and also as I hear of more well known oceanographers, science writers, and beach enthusiasts as I move forward with this blog. Following these and other Twitter feeds will serve the dual purpose of helping me find information for the blog and giving me tips for my own growth on social media.

 

 

